Animals Continue to Amaze me

Posted on Updated on

Earlier today, you probably noticed that I posted a link about the compassion of animals – I posted it on the blog page.  Then, I saw this video about a dog nursing kittens.  I’ve heard stories about dogs nursing cats, cats nursing dogs, but watch all the way to 1:40 – it brought tears to my eyes.

And, then, I wonder.  Why do human mothers kill their young or mistreat them when animal mothers can be so tender to the young that aren’t even theirs?

Isn’t that a sad state of affairs?  When an animal is cruel to its offspring or to another’s offsprring, we just say, “Well, what do you expect?  It’s a dumb animal.”  But, we’re suppose to be the smart ones – the ones high on the food chain.  Shouldn’t we be better than a dumb animal?

I’ll get off my soapbox.  Watch the video.  Let me know if you cried in the comments below.

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Animals Continue to Amaze me

    Amber said:
    August 28, 2010 at 15:01

    Oh I cried:)
    I love it!! I found you via my e-sis Wendy on anonymouspunchingbag btw 🙂

      Top Of My Head said:
      August 28, 2010 at 16:42

      Thanks for stopping by, Amber. Hope you come back again. I liked your sister’s site.

    Chris said:
    August 29, 2010 at 02:59

    Uh huh. What makes you convinced that this is always true?

    There’s a stray cat in my neighborhood with wounds to the head I’m convinced go down to the skull. These wounds probably were inflicted by another cat.

    There’s also a good chance I heard this same cat *scream* in the night. It’s disturbing to say the least.

    I also don’t doubt there are dogs so ill-spirited and sadistic that they would think nothing of killing kittens.

    For every instance of empathy and compassion, there are also examples of brutish violence and simple conflict. Either way, self-hatred and obsequious musings about the human condition get you nowhere.

    Kant also said that: “We can judge a man by his treatment of animals.”

    What he omitted, or what people overlook, is that cruelty is not the same as malice or sadism. Cynical calculation and sacrifice of lives other than your own is a simple reality; and in many cases, would not even be deemed immoral, particularly with regard to animals.

Leave a Reply

