Why We Don’t Need Ron Johnson…

Posted on

According to an article on CNN, Ron Johnson says he’s “just a guy from Oshkosh”.  There’s the number one reason why we don’t need Ron Johnson as a Senator from Wisconsin.  Mr. “I’m worth 38 million dollars” claims to be just like you and me.  However; no one worth $38 million is just like you and me.

My next reason is the fact that Ron Johnson didn’t even bother visiting our nation’s capital until he decided to run for Senate.  Seriously?  You’re now going to make decisions from that capital, but you had no interest in visiting until you decided to run?  What a joke!

Next, as the Journal Sentinel has reported, Ron Johnson find that the United States Constitution “is not an easy document”.  So, I find his complaint that there are 57 lawyers in the US Senate laughable.  Just whom does Johnson think can read the document and how, if he doesn’t find it easy to read, is he going to uphold it?

I was reading an article that Johnson won’t release the information on his lowest paid employees or even the pay ranges of his employees.  I have to wonder why not?  Is he not paying his employees decent wages?  And, if he is paying a livable wage, what’s the big deal?  Why not release the wages and shut down the argument?

Finally, from the Journal Sentinel article mentioned above, I have a real problem with this statement:  The article states that Johnson supports the Patriotic Act — you know the one that took away a great deal many of our civil liberties.  Except, Johnson suddenly has a problem with it:  “I certainly share the concerns on civil liberties now that you have Barack Obama in power versus George Bush. I wasn’t overly concerned with George Bush in power.”  So, losing your civil liberties is okay when a Republican is in power, but losing those same civil liberties isn’t okay when a Democrat is in power.  What a hypocrite!  The Patriot Act should be repealed — PERIOD.  Any document that makes warrant less searches of our homes legal is bad, no matter who is president.  If Johnson can’t figure that out, there’s something seriously wrong with him.

Although, I will have to admit, I’m a bit of a hypocrite myself.  I’ve never really cared about owning a gun to protect my life or property, but if Ron Johnson becomes the Wisconsin Senator, I will be standing in line to buy one.  I have a feeling I will no longer be safe in my great state of Wisconsin.

2 thoughts on “Why We Don’t Need Ron Johnson…

    Trevin said:
    October 19, 2010 at 15:27

    “My next reason is the fact that Ron Johnson didn’t even bother visiting our nation’s capital until he decided to run for Senate. Seriously? You’re now going to make decisions from that capital, but you had no interest in visiting until …you decided to run? What a joke!”

    Now who sounds like the elitist making this statement? I am trying to determine how not visitng The District equates to not being qualified to be a US Senator? Wasn’t the epic, heroic film Mr. Smith Goes to Washington based on a man never being there going to clean it up??

    “I was reading an article that Johnson won’t release the information on his lowest paid employees or even the pay ranges of his employees. I have to wonder why not? Is he not paying his employees decent wages? And, if he is paying a livable wage, what’s the big deal? Why not release the wages and shut down the argument?”

    Really??? This is beyond petty. There is no law or ethics statue in place that requires Johnson, OR KOHL FOR THAT MATTER, to disclose what they pay to their employee’s. As a matter of fact, I believe that Johnson could be sued by any employee that had their wages made public record, even without a name attached. Meaningless gripe that reads like a child who get less allowence than his sibling.

    “Although, I will have to admit, I’m a bit of a hypocrite myself. I’ve never really cared about owning a gun to protect my life or property, but if Ron Johnson becomes the Wisconsin Senator, I will be standing in line to buy one. I have a feeling I will no longer be safe in my great state of Wisconsin.”

    YELLOW JOURNALISM ALERT!!!!!

    Now, I do not know who I will or won’t vote for yet. Both have major faults that I take issue with. Thankfully, I am not basing my decision on such petty partisanship as is on display in this article.

    Just my two cents…….in the interest of fairness I have also posted my response at this blog as well.

    Top Of My Head said:
    October 22, 2010 at 12:03

    I don’t think my stating that if Ron Johnson wins I’ll purchase a gun is Yellow Journalism. It isn’t something I have researched, it wasn’t my headline. It’s the truth. Take a look around. Have you noticed a change in the air? I have. A lesbian couple’s home in TN was burned in an arson attack. Both Montana and Texas GOP want to outlaw homosexuals – it is in their platforms. In Iowa, the GOP Platform states: “We oppose any law, ordinance or policy that would approve the practice of homosexuality.” Well, I can just kiss away any hope of living my life.
    Ron Johnson, according to his own website, is: “pro-life, pro-family, and believes that freedom of religion doesn’t mean freedom from religion.” I’ll bet you dollars to donuts that he doesn’t have one openly gay employee. More and more I see gay people being attacked in this country and if the ultra-right wing groups gain power, I will need protection. That isn’t Yellow Journalism — it is the truth. Anyone that believes it can’t happen here in America hasn’t been paying attention. We’re the country that rounded up Japanese Americans and put them in camps during WWII.
    I don’t go around asking for handouts. I work for everything that I have. I pay a huge amount of money in federal and state income taxes each year. And, every night, I thank God that I have managed to live through another day. Ron Johnson and the people like him scare the hell out of me.

Leave a Reply

