Hello God

Posted on

I was searching the videos on YouTube to find Dolly Parton singing “He’s Alive”.  I love that song.  I found one from Dolly’s appearance on some show in 1989.  And, then, I looked to the right and saw the listing for the video below.  It is Dolly’s “Hello God”.  I’ve never heard the song before.  I went right out to Amazon to purchase my own copy of this song.  Dolly Parton is an amazing songwriter, but this song is even more amazing than I think any of her other songs.  To me, it sounds – right from the beginning verse – like something anyone of us could have written.

Hello, God, are you out there?
Can you hear me?
Are you listenin’ any more?
Hello, God, if we’re still on speakin’ terms,
Can you help me like before?

We’ve all had that really bad day or time in our life when it feels as though God is no where to be found.  From the footsteps poem, we know that those are the times when He carries us, but it doesn’t feel that way, does it?

Then, Dolly does something marvelous in the song.  She makes it about all of us – you, me, her – and every single word is so true.

This old world has gone to pieces.
Can we fix it? Is there time?
Hate and violence just increases.
We’re so selfish, cruel and blind.
We fight and kill each other,
in your name; defending you.
Do you love some more than others?
We’re so lost and confused.

And, we’re reminded of how we haven’t follow God; how we’ve turned our backs on Him and each other.

Anyway, you don’t need a lecture on good works and the problems in the world from little old me.  The song just touched a part of me that, sometimes, I forget about or hide from.  The part that hasn’t given up on my brothers and sisters in Christ.  The part that is probably least likely to be seen by anyone – with the possible exception of my closet family.

So, with all of God’s Blessings I can offer up to you, I’ve placed this video here.  I hope it touches you as much as it touched me.

One thought on “Hello God

    jimmy said:
    November 16, 2010 at 01:54

    cool

Leave a Reply

