The Supreme Court Gets It Right

Posted on Updated on

Finally, the Roberts led Court made a decision that will actually be good for this country. Too bad the right wing is too stubborn to agree.

Sadly, many on the right just don’t get it.

They think that this equates to people getting something for nothing. Apparently, they haven’t been told that millions of hardworking American citizens either can’t afford insurance or work where it isn’t offered.  The Affordable Care Act means that they will have access to affordable health insurance. That’s a good thing.

Plus, the law finally does what should’ve been done a very long time ago – it regulates the insurance companies. Now, they have to spend 85% of the premiums on actual health care. This is a good thing.  Let me explain.

I’m a responsible, tax paying American citizen. When I was working as a contractor, I purchased the most expensive health care plan my employer offered.  I paid the full amount of the premium. I thought I had purchased a plan that would cover up to $15,000 of charges.  I ended up in the hospital and the bill came to well over $6,000. My insurance company didn’t pay anything. What they did do was deny the hospital payment for services and lower the cost of others. I was left with a $4,000 bill.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t have $4,000 just lying around.

With the health care law in full effect, this wouldn’t have happened. And, I wouldn’t be making monthly payments to my local hospital. The insurance company would’ve done what I had been paying them to do.

Another good thing about the health care law is the removal of pre-existing conditions. I have a very mild case of asthma. There was a mix up with my insurance when I switched from one consulting firm to another. This left me without insurance coverage for about two weeks (during which I managed to rack up another $2,000 in Hospital bills.)

Under the old ways, no continuing coverage – no coverage for my asthma. Not now.

Now, my new insurance cannot penalize me for someone else’s mistake.

Which brings me to the Individual Mandate. #1. You don’t want someone to not have coverage, be diagnosed with cancer and then sign up for insurance. That would be the same as not buying car insurance until after you’ve been in an accident. By making everyone have insurance, this scenario practically goes away.
#2. By everyone having insurance, hospitals will be paid for services. If you think people are walking away from medical bills and no one is paying for it, you’re wrong. We all pay when the hospitals raise their rates to make up for the deadbeats.

Responsible adults carry insurance. Now, we’re all going to be responsible adults whether the right wing agrees or not.

Posted from WordPress for Android

One thought on “The Supreme Court Gets It Right

    silver price said:
    July 21, 2012 at 06:57

    Yes, if the employer is the administrator of the group policy. As defined in the Mini-COBRA law, the administrator is the employer unless the employer designates someone else, by written agreement, to manage the administration of the group policy. The law specifies that the employee or eligible dependent must pay “to the administrator or its designee” the monthly contribution to continue the coverage. If the employee or eligible dependent is entitled to premium assistance under the ARRA, the employee or eligible dependent will be responsible for paying to “the administrator or its designee” 35% of the amount of contribution otherwise required to be paid to continue the coverage.

Leave a Reply

