Seraphina

Posted on

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

I just finished reading the book as I start this review. Hartman, in her debut novel, has created a lead character that is fascinating and all to human, despite the fact that she is half dragon. Seraphina lives in a world where dragons and humans, thanks to a forty year old treaty, live together. Despite the treaty, the two fractions both fear and despise each other.
Seraphina, growing up in this environment, has to hide her dragon side. It is her deepest secret. This makes her – despite being one half dragon and living in an entirely different world – like all of us. We all have secrets that we believe would destroy our public selves if they were revealed.
I don’t want to give away any of the plot, but I do want to say that I found this to be a page turner. I highly recommend it. I hope that Hartman is able to write and publish another one. I can’t wait to read what happens next.

Leave a Reply

