1964 Civil Rights Act

Posted on

I’ve been listening to Robert Caro’s book “The Passage to Power”. The book is about Lyndon Johnson as Vice Presidency, as well as when he took over the Presidency after Kennedy’s assassination. When JFK was murdered in Dallas on that long ago November day, the 1964 tax cut bill and the Civil Rights Act were both floundering in Congress. Thanks to Johnson’s political savvy, both were passed.

And, I was thinking about this today, I am in the generation that first benefitted from the Civil Rights Act. I went to school in mixed raced classrooms. I made friends with kids who didn’t look a thing like me. As I’ve grown up, I have made friendships with people across the race spectrum.

It is my humble opinion that these friendships have made me a better human being. I’m blessed to have my life enriched by friends of all races and I’m glad that Lyndon Johnson did what Kennedy couldn’t.

And, as I meet more and more people who are choosing to home school their children, I have to wonder; how will their children be able to cope when faced with people of a different race? How will they deal with someone who is nothing like them?

It makes me a little sad to think that the progress made in our great country to accept those who are different might slide a little farther back.

Still, God bless the memory of LBJ and, of course, God bless America.

Leave a Reply

