Papa John’s Missed Opportunity

Posted on Updated on

I know you can’t always trust political messages on Facebook, but this was reported on Fox News a day ago – so it must be true. The CEO of Papa John’s is claiming the cost of healthcare (Obamacare) for the cutting of full-time staff to part time staff.

Papa John’s Pizza makes millions off their product and by some estimates the healthcare costs will amount to $.15 per pizza. $0.15. That doesn’t seem to be a lot of money to me.

The pizza company isn’t alone. A lot of chains are making the same remarks. And, it isn’t right. We should, as a nation, want the people who handle our food to be healthy. I don’t think it is good to have my food handled by someone with a persistent cough who can’t afford to go to the doctor.

I think Papa John’s is missing a real opportunity here. Instead of rallying against healthcare for his employees and looking like a greed infested monster, he should raise the price of his pizzas by $0.15 and make it a marketing campaign. “Look, we want our staff to be healthy and that costs money, so the price of pizza is going up by $0.15. We believe it is a small price to pay for healthy and happy employees.”

Wouldn’t you want to buy a pizza from that guy rather than from the rich guy who hates our President and doesn’t give a rip about his employees? He always looks like such a happy fellow in his commercials – doesn’t he want the same for his employees? I’m sure that he has healthcare.

Quite frankly, I don’t want to buy a pizza from a man who cares more about profits than people. It’s why I buy pizza from local places more often than from a chain. It’s why, even though I love crab meat and it’s crab fest time, I won’t be eating my birthday dinner at Red Lobster. I’ll be at a local, family owned restaurant.

Leave a Reply

