The Eve of Destruction etc. Day Four

Posted on Updated on

Day four of the reading challenge.  I’ve started The Eve of Destruction by Howard Blum. I’ve made it to Chapter Two. The book is interesting, but I can’t bring myself to get into the subject matter.  I’m hoping that it’ll pick up soon.

Since I’m feeling more light-weight, I’ve started the The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot. The book is not like the movie.  Two glaring differences are Mia’s father is not dead and they’re not in San Francisco.  I’m trying to let the book stand on it’s own.  I don’t usually watch the movie and then read the book.  Also, while reading it, I hear Anne Hathaway’s (who played Mia) and Heather Amy Matarazzo’s (who played Lily) voices when I’m reading. (Yes, I know I’m weird.) Here’s both an interesting and a depressing fact: Anne and Heather are two days apart in age – both November 12 and November 10 in 1982. It’s depressing because I realized that means I’ve been out of high school for 29 years and I’m getting old.

In order to keep track of the 50 books, I created a spreadsheet of all of them.  When I read anything that isn’t part of the challenge, I’ll be adding that book to the list as well.  50 books in four months doesn’t really seem like a lot.  I might have to shorten my time period to make it more interesting.

If there’s any book you think should be added to the list, please leave it in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

