Reading Challenge: Day Thirty

Posted on Updated on

I haven’t forgotten about my reading challenge – I’m just a little (okay, more than a little) behind on my posts.  Vacation pushed me off track and catching up at work pushed me even farther off.  I’m looking at the books on the list and wishing I had challenged myself not to read fifty pre-selected books, but just to read 50 books.  No matter, I have been reading, just not the books on the list.

I know you all saw the repeated postings of my grandsons (especially Danny singing on Beale Street).  I’m finishing up a post about touring Graceland – complete with pictures and advice – and, in case you didn’t notice, I changed the theme of this page.  I think it looks classy, what do you think?

But, you’re not here for that, you’re here to find out just what it is I have been reading.

I’m roughly halfway through The Princess Diaries. If I’m honest, this is the second time I’ve read the book after seeing the movie and realizing the movie was better. The first was Forrest Gump. I think I’m so ingrained in the movie that it’s almost ruined the book for me.

Despite the fact that they aren’t on my reading list, I’ve been reading other books. I’m reading Elvis: The Biography by Jerry Hopkins. Hopkins wrote the first biography about Elvis, while the singer was still alive – at the urging of Jim Morrison. He wrote a follow up after Elvis died. Now, he has placed both books in one volume. It’s a quick read and essential for any Elvis fan.

Two other Elvis books I’ve been reading have been Last Train to Memphis and Careless Love, both by Peter Guralnick. Both are excellent reads and fill in the gaps from Elvis: The Biography.

I have finished reading the first book in a new cozy mystery series called Ghostly Paws  by Leighann Dobbs.  I’m not exactly how I feel about the ending, but I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

