Reading Challenge: Day 35

Posted on Updated on

I picked up “Racing in the Rain”.  I have a confession – this is a cheat book.  This is the children’s version of Garth Stein’s “The Art of Racing in the Rain”.  For the reader of this blog, I highly recommend both books, however; I would suggest reading the longer latter one.

The story is told through the eyes of Enzo about his owner and friend, Denny.  It tells how they met, how Denny met his wife and how their daughter was born.  And – SPOILER – it tells of Denny’s custody battle for his daughter with his in-laws.  Told through Enzo’s eyes makes the story seem more compelling, more real.

When I read the original book, I picked it up on a Saturday night and didn’t put it down until I finished it on Sunday afternoon.  This time through was almost the same, except I picked it up on Sunday night and had to put it down to go to work.  I finished it last night, just before bed.  I was as touched this time around as I had been the first time around.

So, with finishing “The Princess Diaries” and “Racing in the Rain”, I have now finished three out of the fifty books most downloaded books.  That’s only forty-seven books to go until the end date of July 14th.  So, you don’t think I’m slacking, I have finished “Ghostly Paws”, “Ghost of a Gamble” and “Dummy of a Ghost” in the same time period.  I better quit writing and start reading!

Leave a Reply

