New Reading Challenge…

Posted on Updated on

Ugh, I give up!  I am not going to read the 50 most downloaded books from the 50 states.  I’m more than halfway done and the books that are left definitely do not interest me.  I could lie and say I read them all, but I can’t.  I can’t get through anything that even resembles a romance and the horror book on the list I’ll never get through – I couldn’t even get it from my local library.
I won’t say that the reading challenge was a total loss.  I did read “Beautiful Ruins” by Jess Walter and that book was unbelievably good.  It was fresh, moving and a little life changing.  I loved it.
For the last couple of weekends, I’ve been reorganizing my book shelves and donating books I don’t need, want or won’t read again.  This lead me to the discovery that books I was in the middle of reading managed to find their way to piles where out of sight, out of mind became the norm.  My wife is an incessant neat freak and she can’t stand to see something sitting wherever she thinks it doesn’t belong.  I realized that I had a ton of books that were in various stages of reading progress.  In addition, I now have a Scribd membership.  Scribd is like Netflix for books.  It runs on Android or you can read via your browser.  You have unlimited access to a remarkably large amounts of books.
This gave me an idea for another challenge.  It was time for me to finish reading all of the books I had stopped reading – and, thanks to Cheryl’s pulling out all of the bookmarks, actually starting them all over.  And, because I’ll spot a recommended book on Scribd and put it in my library, it’s time to read those as well.  I, also, have Kindle books that have been sitting for a long while that need time and attention.  So, I’ve decided to start a new challenge.  I’m going to read all of these books – and review every single one of them – over the next year.  That’s 100 books in 365 days.  In other words, 2 books a week.  I’m trying to organize them into fiction vs non-fiction, but we’ll see.
So, in no particular order, here’s my list of books:
1. The Mother-Daughter Book Club by Heather Vogel Frederick
2. Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher
3. Little Bird of Heaven by Joyce Carol Oates
4. Outwitting History by Aaron Lansky
5. The Irregulars by Jennet Conant
6. Spy Masters by Tennent Bagley
7. Einstein: His Life and Universe by Walter Isaacson
8. Papillon by Henri Charriere
9. This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald
10. Living History by Hillary Rodham Clinton
11. Team of Rivals by Doris Kearns Goodwin
12. Wait Till Next Year by Doris Kearns Goodwin
13. You Can’t Go Home Again by Thomas Wolfe
14. No Ordinary Time by Doris Kearns Goodwin
15. All the President’s Men by Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein
16. The Green Mile by Stephen King
17. Ghost at Work by Carolyn G. Hart
18. Proof of Heaven by Eben Alexander
19. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
20. On Writing by Stephen King
21. Marilyn: A Biography by Norman Mailer
22. The Biograph Girl by William J. Mann
23. Further Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin
24. Sure of You by Armistead Maupin
25. Significant Others by Armistead Maupin
26. Michael Tolliver Lives by Armistead Maupin
27. Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
28. I Wish I Had a Red Dress by Pearl Cleage
29. Nixon and Kissinger by Robert Dallek
30. April 1865 by Jay Winik
31. Sophie’s Choice by Willian Styron
32. From Notting Hill with Love…Actually by Ali McNamara
33. An Uncommon Education by Elizabeth Percer
34. Paris Without End by Gioia Diliberto
35. The President is a Sick Man by Matthew Algeo
36. Rose of Fire by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
37. Mary Poppins by P.I. Travers
38. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
39. The Naked and the Dead by Norman Mailer
40. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
41. The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
42. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett
43. A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan
44. The Good Spy by Kai Bird
45. The Last Train to Memphis by Peter Guralnick
46. Careless Love by Peter Guralnick
47. The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy
48. The Hero’s Guide to Being an Outlaw by Christopher Healy
49. Queen Victoria by Matthew Dennison
50. The Most of Nora Ephron by Nora Ephron
51. Mama Rose’s Turn by Carolyn Quinn
52. Somewhere in Time by Richard Matheson
53. The House of Hades by Rick Riodan
54. The Astronaut Wives Club by Lily Koppel
55. Time and Again by Jack Finney
56. From Time to Time by Jack Finney
57. Mary Wickes by Steve Taravella
58. Mark Twain’s Tales of Mystery by Mark Twain
59. Wicked by Gregory Maguire
60. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
61. The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel
62. The Last Lion by William Manchester
63. Franklin and Winston by Jon Meacham
64. The Bully Pulpit by Doris Kearns Goodwin
65. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
66. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
67. Sacre Bleu by Christopher X. Moore
68. Shoeless Joe by W. P. Kinsella
69. Mrs. Darcy and the Blue-Eyed Stranger by Lee Smith
70. Talking to the Dead by Bonnie Grove
71. Every Last Cuckoo by Kate Maloy
72. The Reagan Diaries by Ronald Reagan
73. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
74. Never Surrender by Michael Dobbs
75. Mr. S by George Jacobs
76. The Code Breakers by David Kahn
77. Set Your Compass True by Signe Bergstrom
78. Kennedy & Nixon by Christopher J. Matthews
79. Edward Albee by Mel Gussow
80. The Secret Man by Bob Woodward
81. Mornings on Horseback by David McCullough
82. Mrs. Queen Takes the Train by William Kuhn
83. Nixonland by Rick Perlstein
84. Hunting the Jackal by Billy Waugh
85. Double Life by Alan Shayne
86. The Know It All by A.J. Jacobs
87. Wesley the Owl by Stacey O’Brien
88. The Daughters of Winston Barnett by Dara Girard
89. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
90. Woman of Valor by Stephen B. Oates
91. Anachism and Other Essays by Emma Goldman
92. The Wilderness Warrior by Douglas Brinkley
93. The Senator and the Socialite by Lawrence Otis Graham
94. Lost and Found by Jacqueline Sheehan
95. The Men Who Stare at Goats by Jon Ronson
96. Mark Twain by Ron Powers
97. Amazing Grace by Mark Beckloff
98. Dreamcatcher by Stephen King
99. Girl Reading by Katie Ward (appropriate, I think)
100. God is an Englishman by R.F. Delderfield
101. Shockaholic by Carrie Fisher
That’s it – that’s the list of the 100 books that I will finish reading before June 23, 2015.  I might read more and a couple of the books on the list are pre-orders I’m looking forward to reading.  If you have a suggestion to add, please place it in the comments.  If I manage to read an average of two books a week, I should finish two weeks early.  However; some of the books on the list are pretty long and I do have to work.  Some of these books I have as audible selections, so I can listen to them during my commute.
This is much better. Come join me in this new reading challenge!

Leave a Reply

