A Parent’s Death

Posted on Updated on

A little more than a year ago, when I was 45, I received the phone call that told me my mother had passed away in her sleep. I was then and still am now devastated.  It was unbelievable.  Losing a parent is that heart stopping moment where nothing seems to make sense.  It’s a moment that turns the tables on all that you know to be true.  It doesn’t matter if that parent died in a car crash, had a heart attack, committed suicide, overdosed or just slipped away in their sleep – the loss rocks you to your core.

Earlier this week, a young woman – whom I do not know – lost her father in probably the worse way possible: To suicide with the whole world watching.  Zelda Williams is twenty years younger than I was when I lost my mother.  I cannot imagine the pain and suffering she must be feeling.  We lost ROBIN WILLIAMS.  She lost Daddy.  I’m still hurting a year after losing my mother and I’m well into my forties.  I ask the why question nearly everyday and I don’t have television cameras or people tweeting about my mother’s death.  But, this young lady has to grieve not in private, where non-celebrity children get to grieve, but out in the open in front of all of us.

And, then I read this morning that there are some people who felt the need to torment this little girl by saying hateful things on Twitter and other social media.  To them I ask one short and simple question:  WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU?  How can you possibly rant and rave at a twenty-five year old girl?  And, that’s what she is right now – a little girl – who wishes nothing more than to have her father back.  And, you think it is okay to torture her with your views on her father’s passing?  Who the hell do you think you are?  You’re certainly not that important and where is your mother?

Every person who attacked her and her family should take a good hard look at themselves.  Do you feel proud of yourself?  Because, you’re the lowest of low.  Oh, there’s scumbags in this world and you’re right there underneath them.  SHAME ON YOU!  I knew society was turning into a place where only the cruel survives, but it breaks my heart that it’s really happening.

To Zelda Williams and your family, I’m so very sorry for your loss.  My heart and prayers go out to you.  Someone once said, “Don’t let the bastards get you down.”  Please follow that. God Bless you and yours.

Leave a Reply

