Excitement and Help From OnStar

Posted on

Today, I was driving a couple of friends’ kids home.  Right in front of us a man misses a curve and smashes into a light pole.  He backs up, a little too close to my front end, and takes off.  So, we followed him.  Long story short, we realize that he’s drug or high, so I hit the emergency button and am connected to OnStar.  We explained what’s going on and within minutes, I’m speaking with a Racine dispatcher, who takes down my information.  We follow the man to his apartment building, the police thank us and we leave. 

Not only were the two kids with me impressed with OnStar, I was grateful to know that I had this dispatcher who was able to give the police my location and follow me via GPS to help.  When it was done, OnStar called me back for being a good Samaritan.  That’s a laugh – I wouldn’t have been able to do that without their assistance.

The police needed more information from us, so we met a very nice  officer at the scene of the accident.  He told us that the man was apprehended.

Good job, OnStar!

2 thoughts on “Excitement and Help From OnStar

    kamshows said:
    August 27, 2014 at 15:22

    Hello, I am Kameya with the OnStar social team. Thank you for being a Good Samaritan and calling OnStar to help someone in need. It is people like you that help make our communities safer.

      Top Of My Head responded:
      August 27, 2014 at 15:34

      Thank you for your kind comment. But, I didn’t do anything special. I really wouldn’t have been able to do it if I hadn’t had an OnStar rep handling calling the police while I could drive my car. I loved having you around before, but this just nailed it for me when the police dispatcher could tell me my exact location because of the OnStar dispatcher.

Leave a Reply

