Affordable Wedding Minister

Posted on Updated on

If you live in AZ – or, I guess any state where Susan Latimer operates – do yourself a favor and don’t do business with her. 

According to the article on Think Progress, Latimer worked for weeks with a lesbian couple, before realizing that they were gay and then refusing the business – citing religious reasons.  I have two issues with this:

1) You didn’t notice the people each had feminine names when you started?  You cancel after wasting weeks of their time?  You’re running a for-profit business, but you’re claiming religion?

2) Do you think Jesus would approve of your behavior?

I think Latimer should have asked right at the get go if this was a gay wedding and then she could’ve refused it.  I wouldn’t want a homophobe to perform my wedding.  To me, not asking, sounds very unprofessional.  There’s an out in the non-discrimination law that would have protected you.

BUT…

I don’t think Jesus Christ would want a minister to turn down the opportunity to bless the joining of two people in love.  Call me crazy, but He didn’t mention anything about gay people.  He did mention marriage, the part where you’re not supposed to get a divorce.  I wonder if Latimer refuses second marriages for divorce people?  That would be following a “religion”. 

She’s probably just making it up as she goes along, as most bigots do.

I want to make one last statement: I’m not saying that Latimer can’t run her business as she sees fit – go ahead and discriminate.  I just believe that if you’re going to do business with someone, you should know what kinds of morals and values they hold.  It is a consumer world and each of us should spend our money with companies and businesses that uphold our own values and ethics. 

If Latimer isn’t going to perform same sex marriages, I wouldn’t give her my money.  I’m making the suggestion that you don’t either.

Leave a Reply

