Gay Agenda is the same as the Straight Agenda

Posted on

I saw a comment on Huffington Post where the commenter stated that she didn’t like the gay agenda.  Her comment was on the article of how the Republican Candidates for President stood silently (probably booing inside), while the audience booed a gay soldier.

I posted the following to her, but apparently, it wasn’t approved.  I decided to post it here. I want to set the record straight, so to speak, on the gay agenda.  Pay attention and feel free to pass this along to your friends and family.

What part of the “gay agenda” don’t you like? I’m gay and I don’t have any agenda beyond being able to have the right to live my life like anyone else. My wife should be able to draw on my Social Security, just like a straight woman can draw on her husband’s. My wife should be able to inherit our house without tax repercussi­ons, just like a straight woman. We should be able to file our federal taxes together, visit each other in the hospital (without jumping through hoops) and make the necessary health and financial decisions like any other married couple. 

If wanting to have the same rights as everyone else means I have an agenda, okay, I guess I have one.

What part of MY agenda don’t you like? What part of I pay taxes too means that I don’t get to live like any other taxpaying, God fearing American?

It’s time we stop hiding behind crap lines like “gay agenda” and start realizing that this is America, where we are all considered equal.

Regarding the cowardly GOP Candidates for President, I wrote my opinion here.  They are sad excuses for American citizens – every last one of them.

7 thoughts on “Gay Agenda is the same as the Straight Agenda

    hiwaychristian said:
    September 23, 2011 at 09:58

    Why can’t you folks see the difference? If I prefer onions to carrots, I don’t go out and make it a political issue. Why is your sexual preference so crucial to your identity?

    And the other side of this issue is the Law of God. Or have you so loved your personal pleasure that you’ve forgotten that part of the issue.

    I don’t like your demand that your pursuit of personal pleasure has become an issue of life or death.

    And, by the way, I’ve just posted a bonfire response to what you see as your personal rights on my blog. No, I don’t hate you. I hate this foolish world your agenda is promoting. People are dying because you think you deserve to proclaim your so called right.

    Top Of My Head said:
    September 23, 2011 at 15:56

    I don’t know if you realize this, but there is a HUGE difference between not liking carrots and being gay. No one is going to fire you for hating carrots. No one is going to deny you the right to buy a home or rent an apartment, because you hate carrots. No one is going to say that your love of onions is unnatural and you don’t deserve your full rights as an American citizen.

    Being gay is a political issue because people who are against gay rights made it that way. Every American deserves to be hired and not fired because of their sexual orientation.

    How would you feel if I purchase the company for whom you work and suddenly fired everyone who is straight? I’m betting that you wouldn’t like that at all. And, yet, in 33 states, you can fire someone because of their sexual orientation – it happens to work both ways.

    I don’t know if you’re male or female, but how would you feel if your spouse wasn’t allowed to be by your side at the hospital because the government decided not to recognize your relationship? I’m guessing that sexual orientation would suddenly become a political issue for you then.

    Regarding my “sexual preference so crucial to my identity” – isn’t yours? Isn’t being straight a part of your identity? I happen to be very secure in my identity and in my life. I have a good job, I own a home, I pay my taxes, I love my grandsons and I love my wife. I’m sure that you could probably say the same thing, couldn’t you? See how your sexuality is tied up in your identity?

    And, this pursuit of pleasure? What do you think – all gays are out all day and night looking for sex? We’re normal people. We have jobs, children, grandchildren, pets and lives to lead that have nothing to do with sex. Are you projecting? Is sex all you think about every day, because I’ve never understood why straight people are so concerned with my sex life. I’m not concerned with yours.

    Regarding God (and ignoring the fact that there is a separation of church and state in America), Jesus said that there are two commandments Christians have to follow: 1) To love thy God with all thy heart and 2) To love thy neighbor as thyself. How does denying gay people the right to a job or a home or the 1300 other rights straight people have in the United States fall into either of those commandments?

    Jesus said “He without sin cast the first stone”, but it has been my experience that the followers of Christ are really big on finding the twig in my eye, while ignoring the log in their own.

    A wise man once said that you should walk in other man’s shoes to know how they feel. You’ve never walked in my shoes – you have no idea how I live my life and, yet, you don’t think I’m worthy to have the same rights you enjoy. How is that being a good Christian? Jesus said, “What you do for the least of you, you do for me?”

    Tonight, when I pray to God thanking Him for my day and all of the blessings He has bestowed upon me, I’ll say a prayer for you. I have a feeling that you are so wrapped up in your own idea of religion that you’re missing the point of Christ dying for our sins.

    Tonight, I suggest you do the same. Perhaps, if you had an honest and open dialogue with God and Jesus, you’ll learn that you are so busy learning the “rules” of Christianity that you are cursed by religion. That’s a shame. I’ll pay that the Lord lifts your curse from your heart and opens you to a better and honest relationship with Jesus. You’ll probably not find the need to judge other people and think that them wanting their Constitutional rights is such a bad thing.

    God Bless.

    hiwaychristian said:
    September 23, 2011 at 17:30

    Your identity is your body. How pathetic. My identity belongs to the Lord God. He teaches His people to forego the pleasures of their bodies. And He calls us to an identity of righteousness and restraint.

    You encounter social resistance because you brag about your sin as if iit were not your fault. If you kept your lust to yourselves, who would know or care. But you will do what you do. And the world will suffer because of those who hate the restraints of righteousness.

    Top Of My Head said:
    September 23, 2011 at 18:52

    Where did God call us to forego the pleasures of their bodies? That’s not in my Bible. And, how do you know anything about my righteousness and restraint? That’s right, you know NOTHING about my righteousness and restraint, because you know NOTHING about me.

    I hate to tell you this, but I’m encountering a lot less social resistance than you think. I don’t brag about sin, I just don’t consider being gay a sin.

    I do consider being judgmental a sin and you seem to excel at that. But, pointing fingers and insults will get us no where.

    So, you never tell anyone about your spouse or your significant other?

    You are truly a sad human being who only deserves my pity that your hatred and ignorance is eating your very soul.

    I will pray for you, as Jesus taught, but I’m pretty sure that you do not do the same for me.

      hiwaychristian said:
      September 24, 2011 at 10:45

      I won’t bother you anymore. It’s obvious we are enemies. You will hold your ground. And I will not move from God’s side on this issue. But I will ask you one more question. You don’t have to answer me. But it is a life and death question for you.

      If your lifestyle is not a sin, then why did God utterly destroy Sodom?

      before you consider your answer I would suggest that you read the story in the Bible first. Perhaps you’ve read it before. But it can’t hurt to renew our memories of such things.

      And as for praying for you: I have spoken to God concerning you. But I don’t ask for peace. I asked that your dreams and waking hours be plagued with this conversation. I ask that you receive no rest from these words. It’s not a curse as you might think. It’s a desire to free you from a sin that will surely end in your eternal death.

      Father, you see this man. You know where he has been and what he accepts as sinless behavior. I know that You have spoken that all who live like this will not taste life. So I ask you to send anxiety to this man until he understands Your Holy Desire for all men. By the sacrifice of Your Holy Son I appeal to your Great Mercy and Wisdom. Amen.

      By His Grace.

    Top Of My Head | Pity the Anti-Gays said:
    September 24, 2011 at 09:19

    […] Pity the Anti-Gays So, I posted on the video page about a comment I had read about on Huffington Post.  The whole thing was that the person making the comment didn’t like the gay agenda.  I questioned what that means, as of writing this, the author has not responded.  I stated my case that the gay “agenda” is no different than a straight agenda.  You can read the whole post here. […]

    Top Of My Head said:
    September 24, 2011 at 13:59

    Yes, let’s discuss Sodom and Gomorrah, because it all comes down to that for people like you. Maybe, you should re-read the story. God wasn’t destroying Sodom and Gomorrah because of homosexuality. He was destroying the city because the people there were evil. They were inhospitable. They were uncaring. Sadly, your prayer for my eternal torment shows that you would’ve fit in with the citizens of Sodom and Gomorrah.

    You are not my enemy, because I take the teachings of Christ to heart, unlike you. That is sad, very sad. What in my post made you think that you are better than me? We are all equal in the eyes of God. Where in the teachings of Jesus gives you the right to judge me?

    By the way, I stand by my statement that you truly do not know me. I’m not a man.

    I prayed for you last night and I’ll pray for you tonight.

    As for me, I slept very well last night – no demons haunting me, no fear of fire and brimstone. If I have committed a sin, it is the fact that I am struggling with loving you, as Jesus taught.

    I suggest that you stop thumping your Bible and start reading it. Start with Matthew 25:31-46.

    Blessings to you and yours. I have a feeling you need them more than I do.

Leave a Reply

