That Which Leads to Hell

Posted on

This morning, I read a post on Pastor Tim Burt’s blog regarding standing firm against accepting homosexuality. First, he misquoted the Bible (I’ll be quite frank, the NLT Bible is one of the worse translations) and he included a sign about bullying. I commented on the blog and he responded, which I thought was nice. I had considered replying back, but then I thought what would God want me to do?

The answer came to me in a verse:

And whosoever shall not receive you, nor hear your words, when ye depart out of that house or city, shake off the dust of your feet.

Matthew 10:14 (KJV)

It occurred to me that I should let it go and instead write something positive.

There’s a lot of people out there who feel as Pastor Burt does, that homosexuals are sinners and they have to give up their evil ways to find a place at God’s table. But, that isn’t true.

Sure homosexuals commit sins, but being a homosexual isn’t a sin in and of itself. Everyone sins. In that sense, we are all sinners. And, sin is sin. Somewhere along the way to Heaven, the self-righteous have decided that homosexuality is the worse sin and the sin of all sins.

The worse thing about this whole thing is how much they believe it. Then, they indoctrinate their children into believing it and the myth grows until some poor child of God takes his own life out of despair because he’s gay.

That stops today.

Let’s do as Jesus taught and refuse to listen to the self-righteous. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t try to engage them, but once you realize there is no hope for them – walk away and shake the dust off your feet.

Further, spread the word. I admit sometimes I feel a little corny telling someone God Bless, but we have to show our faith. I may give my alms in private, as Jesus taught, but stand up – no, sign up to be one of His disciples and proclaim the good news to your gay brothers and sisters. Reach out to them and remind them that God loves all His children. No more of this political correctness crap – be the Christian God wants you to be.

God Bless

2 thoughts on “That Which Leads to Hell

    Pastor Tim said:
    October 13, 2012 at 00:25

    Wow, you have interesting values. First you accuse me of deceiving. I had the courtesy of responding. You didn’t nor did you apologize when I gave you proof of my verses. You instead dismiss A widely received translation of the Bible. Whether you like it or not, you didn’t apologize for your accusation when I indeed did not misrepresent what I wrote. Then you act noble blaming it on what God would have you do and implying I am hard-hearted and won’t listen when I already did (which you admitted.) I wrote you with kindness and respect. But you, lead by God, instead talk behind my back, biblically considered gossip. I would look into your own heart and examine your way of speaking truth.

    Top Of My Head responded:
    October 13, 2012 at 09:13

    Okay, we totally disagree – so, why should I apologize? I didn’t say anything wrong. The New Living Translation may be widely used – I’m not going to disagree with that – but it isn’t a correct translation. And, proof of your verses? Quoting from two different translations of the Bible to get your point across isn’t proof of your verses. I don’t believe either of the translations you used are correct. Nor, do I think anything quoted from Saint Paul should ever be used in an argument. But, those are my beliefs and I don’t expect you to agree or even give them any credence. And, as I said, I don’t think God wanted me to get into an argument with you on your site. I don’t believe it would lead to any good. Because, I believe that God loves me – just as I am. I don’t have to denounce the fact that I’m a lesbian in order to get into Heaven. I have accepted Him into my heart and I try (but, I’m human, so I often fail) to follow His wishes.

    I don’t know how not arguing with you is somehow offensive, nor do I see how this article is in anyway an attack on you. I do have readers from time to time who believe as you do – that homosexuals are going to Hell solely because they’re homosexual. And, it has been my experience that trying to change their minds is a waste of the written word. Now, I linked to your blog above in hopes that if someone wanders in believing the way you do, they’ll wander where they’ll be happier, and that would probably be your blog.

    As far as looking into my heart, I did before I wrote this blog. Are you suggesting that my belief that God leads me down my path in life is wrong? Never mind, I really don’t want to know. We can go round and round and back and forth and neither one of us will think or belief that the other one is correct. And, where does that lead? Just to further resentment and that certainly isn’t what God wants. That sounds more like the Devil.

    Jesus said that we should love thy neighbor as ourselves (Matthew 22:39) and when someone believes I’m going to Hell or I’m an abomination or a sinner because I was born gay, I really struggle with loving him or her as I love myself. If I do end up in the depths of Hell, it will be because I didn’t follow this commandment enough. But, today, I’m not going to argue with you, as I didn’t argue with you on last Wednesday. There’s enough fighting in this world and God doesn’t need two of HIs children to do anymore.

    So, go in peace and have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

