Happy National Coming Out Day!

Posted on

Today is National Coming Out Day.  This is the day when gay people are encouraged to come out to someone.  I do that everyday, as most gay people should.  When I started my new job, I put Cheryl’s picture up on my desk.  As my new co-workers would stop by, a few would ask about the picture.  I’d just tell them that she’s my wife.

Tammy Baldwin once said (and I’m paraphrasing) that if you want to live in a world where you can put a picture of your wife on your desk, put a picture of your wife on your desk and you live in that world.  In other words, come out, come out wherever you are.

Some straight people don’t understand the big deal.  They lie and tell you that their sexuality isn’t public and what’s the big deal.  What they don’t understand is that their sexuality is very much public.  They go into work and complain about their wife or brag about their kids – they “announce” that they are gay.

It’s funny or ironic.  Two of my current co-workers, whom I like very much, think that I am very prideful because I had no problem mentioning my wife.  Yet one of them is married and he doesn’t see that it isn’t prideful, he does the samething.  Don’t get me wrong, he’s a nice guy; he just doesn’t understand.

We’ve come a long way, but we still have a long way to go.  We can only get there if we come out.  Take a chance.

There is one more thing:  Why don’t we seriously get together and all stay home from work or school next year?  Instead of National Coming Out Day, we could have National Stay In Day.  I believe that it would do three things:

  1. It would show how many of us there are.
  2. and show how the straights couldn’t live without us.
  3. Watch all the homophobes show up for work, so no one would think they were gay!

So, National Stay In Day – who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

