Chick fil-a & Rights

Posted on

Unless you live under a rock, you’ve probably heard about the chicken company’s anti-gay marriage stance. If you’re on Facebook, you’ve probably been bombarded with images either in support of or against Chick-fil-a and its President, Don Cathy.
Here’s the thing those supporting the chicken company won’t tell you: this isn’t about Mr. Cathy speaking his mind. This is about Mr. Cathy and his company giving more than $3 million to anti-gay hate groups.  This isn’t new, no matter how much the supporters of the chicken company wants you to believe.
And, this isn’t gays picking on poor Mr. Cathy because he spoke his mind. We’re all for free speech. Mr. Cathy wants to hate gays – fine, let him. If he wants to give money to hate groups I have no problem with that, either. However; when he gives that money out of his company’s coffers, he is taking the money his customers gave him for their purchases. I don’t want money that I worked hard to earn going to support groups that want to outlaw my way of life. When there are other companies out there that make chicken better than Chick-fil-a, why would I spend my money there?
Now, I try hard not to shop or support companies and businesses that disagree with my beliefs.  I don’t shop at Wal-Mart. I try to shop locally and stay away from National chains as much as possible. I try to purchase American made products. I try to purchase green products. Do I always succeed? No, I don’t. I don’t think anyone can, unless they’re completely self-supporting, grow their own food and make their own clothes.
If you want to make your own decision and keep eating from the chicken company – go right ahead. No one is stopping you.
But, don’t believe for one second that Chick-fil-a is some sort of victim in all of this, because they’re not. The gays didn’t come out and attack them first.
And, one more thing : I should admit that I’ve only eaten there once in my life. I honestly thought it sucked, so this is one boycott I’m happy to support – I had no intention of eating there ever again.

Leave a Reply

